Liberal, Kansas – After three years in Liberal as a member of the Saints, Todd Baffa will finally be continuing his collegiate career at the Division I level after signing with the University of Maine for the 2025 season as he will change in the green and white for blue and black as he becomes a Black Bear.

In three years at Seward County, Baffa has helped the Saints to back-to-back 30+ win seasons and a 63-53 overall record while going 38-26 against Jayhawk West opponents. After redshirting in the 2022 season after appearing in 7 games, Baffa appeared regularly for SCCC over the course of the next two seasons as he ended his Seward County career with 58 runs, 76 hits, 50 RBIs, 15 doubles, and four homeruns.

Every season Baffa managed to grow his numbers with his final year as a Saint being his best yet. He stepped up to the plate and connected on 48 hits with 8 doubles and a pair of homerun bombs while scoring 40 runs throughout the course of 46 games. He recorded 3 or more hits in five games as a RS-Sophomore with a career high of 4 hits in a 15-7 win over Trinidad State where Baffa had a batting average of .800 with a pair of runs and an RBI. In a 17-3 win over Garden City, he went a perfect 3/3 at the plate while scoring 4 runs for Seward County and recording a double with two RBIs.

“Congratulations to Todd on signing to the University of Maine” said Head Coach Mike Davidson. “Todd is a tough guy on the field and a great teammate to have in a program. I have no doubt he will help Maine climb the standings and make an impact for them right away.”

Baffa will head to a Maine baseball program that placed last in the American East with an 8-15 conference record while going 12-37 overall on the 2024 season. The Black Bears best series came in late April when they faced Binghamton at home and grabbed two out of three games with a 4-3 win in game one and a 9-3 win in game two.

Baffa is now one of seven players to sign on to the four-year level for the Saints while being the third to sign at the Division I level. He joins Trenton Rowan (Arkansas), Brian Luna Alvarez (Texas Tech), Cameron Cartwright (Colorado Mesa), Tyler Wilcox (Oklahoma Christian), Trent Gerber (Central Oklahoma), and Elias Herrera (Northwestern Oklahoma State).