Liberal, KS

Now: 33 °F

Currently: Cloudy

Hi: 44 °F | Lo: 31 °F


Hi: 39 °F 

Lo: 18 °F


Hi: 49 °F 

Lo: 27 °F


Hi: 56 °F 

Lo: 25 °F


Hi: 50 °F 

Lo: 19 °F


Hi: 33 °F 

Lo: 18 °F

Three Saints Make All Region Team

KSCB News - April 3, 2012 12:49 pm

When you win 31 games in a college basketball season,
people are going to notice and the voting parties picked to select the
NJCAA All-Region VI Team did just that as Seward County sophomores
Daveon Boardingham, Deverell Biggs, and Irvin Hollinger have all been
named to the All-Region Team. Biggs and Boardingham were named to the
1st Team, marking the first time since the Saints last run at the
National Tournament that two Seward players were named to the top squad,
while Hollinger was chosen as an Honorable Mention selection. It is the
first time in school history that the Saints had two 1st Team picks and
another player selected to one of the other All-Region teams. Biggs,
who was already chosen as the top player in the Jayhawk West, also
received the highest billing from the Region as the top player and heads
the 1st Team after averaging 14.6 points and 3.3 steals per game in his
only season in the green and white. Boardingham was hampered by an
ankle injury much of the conference season, but impressed enough with
his 11.7 points and 5.7 rebounds per game throughout the year to also be
named to the 1st Team during his sophomore season. Hollinger had a
breakout year in 2011-2012 and was named Honorable Mention All-Region
after putting up 13.8 points and 5.1 rebounds per game and playing in
all 38 Saints games throughout the year.
Roy Allen


Latest Stories

Free Business Seminars to be Offered February 28

By Liberal Area Coalition For Families Free business seminars are coming to Liberal. The seminars are...

Award-Winning Albuquerque Poet to judge SCCC Poetry Contest; Entries Now Being Accepted

  By Janice Northerns Liberal, Kans. — The deadline to enter Seward County Community College’s ninth...

Seward County Meets with Light Agenda

The Seward County Board of County Commissioners met on Tuesday due to the Presidents Day Holiday...