Liberal, KS

Now: 54 °

Currently: Rain

Hi: 59 ° | Lo: 49 °

Luetters Nominated for Coach of the Year

Brock Kappelmann - November 29, 2023 1:40 pm

Sports in Kansas has released its annual list of finalists for coach of the year in the state of Kansas for each classification. The list is decided upon by a statewide media panel in Kansas and finalized by Chet Kuplen of Sports in Kansas. Winners will be announced on the weekend of the December 2nd and 3rd. All-State teams, players of the year, coaches of the year will also be announced that same weekend. Congrats to all of the coaches who made our list.

Sports in Kansas 6A Coach of the Year Finalists

Ene Akpan, Wichita East

Steve Buhler, Washburn Rural

Courtney Porter, Olathe East

Brandon Clark, Derby

Joe Schartz, Manhattan

Jesse Owen, Gardner Edgerton

Alan Terrell, Blue Valley

Chris McCartney, Olathe North

Sports in Kansas 5A Coach of the Year Finalists

Weston Schartz, Kapaun

Bryan Luetters, Liberal

Joel Applebee, Mill Valley

Darrin Fisher, Eisenhower

Brent Pfeifer, Maize South

Anthony Orrick, Blue Valley Southwest

Sports in Kansas 4A Coach of the Year Finalists

Preston Troyer, Tonganoxie

Randy Dreiling, Aquinas

Jeremiah Meeks, Wellington

Rod Stallbaumer, Basehor Linwood

Jon Holmes, Miege

Drew Harding, Louisburg

Weston Moody, Wamego

Jim Smith, Atchison

Brad Nicks, Abilene

Derek Tuttle, Andover Central

Sports in Kansas 3A Coach of the Year Finalists

Mike Berg, Wellsville

Brooks Barta, Holton

Bill Arnold, Hayden

Jim Turner, Scott City

Marc Henry, Clay Center

Mark Smith, Frontenac

Jeff Schibi, Parsons

Shelby Wehrman, Cheney

Dylan Schmidt, Andale

Troy Black, Collegiate

Sports in Kansas 2A Coach of the Year Finalists

Danny Weaver, Riverton

Andrew Gantenbein, Osage City

Micheal Glatczak, Nemaha Central

Garrett Michael, Sabetha

Logan Wyrick, Humboldt

Lucas Melvin, Norton

Josh Homolka, Ellsworth

Zach Baird, Hoisington

Mitch Gebhardt, SE Saline

Todd Rice, Garden Plain

Brady Keith, Larned

Sports in Kansas 1A Coach of the Year Finalists

Shawn Seematter, Colgan

Jeff Schneider, Jefferson County North

Matt Biehler, Conway Springs

Kyle Schenk, St. Marys

Shaun Craft, Marion

Nick Schmidt, Medicine Lodge

Cody Trimble, Valley Heights

Mike Rogers, Smith Center

Roger Holthaus, Centralia

Sports in Kansas 8M-I Coach of the Year Finalists

Chris Haag, West Elk

Michael Massey, Lyndon

Derick Budke, Chase Co.

Doug Bonura, Cair Paravel

Jeff Savage, Central Burden

Tyler O’Connor, Moundridge

Joe Roche, Ell Saline

Lance Baar, Hoxie

Brant Douglas, Wichita Co.

Aaron Sramek, Rawlins Co.

Sports in Kansas 8M-II Coach of the Year Finalists

Eric Detweiler, Axtell

Nick Anderson, Frankfort

Brett Westrup, South Central

Doug Oberle, Victoria

Corey Dunlap, Kinsley

Matt Cantrell, South Barber

Regio Hahn, Minneola

Ken Simon, Dighton

Sports in Kansas 6-Man Coach of the Year Finalists

Tommy Heatherly, Chetopa

Nick Fraenza, Waverly

Lance McGuire, Cunningham

Chris Walden, Cheylin

Daymon Walker, Tescott

Ben Fox, Ashland

Marvin Gebhard, Northern Valley


Latest Stories

SWMC Recognized for Higher Quality and Cost-Efficiency in Maternity Care

LIBERAL, KS –Southwest Medical Center is proud to be recognized by Blue Cross and Blue Shield...

City Commission Approves Splash Pads

The Liberal City Commission met on Tuesday evening and heard from the Oxford House Alumni providing...

Teacher of the Year Nominations Being Accepted

The time has come, once again, to nominate your favorite USD 480 teacher for Teacher of...

KSCB Radio News