Liberal High School hosted their Athletic Award Assembly Monday night in Maskus Auditorium.  This year there were 62 Triple Threat Athletes playing at least three different sports.  There were 110 student athletes on the All WAC Academic Team.  There were 30 athletes named Scholar Athletes and all have a 4.0 GPA.  Hayleen Martinez received special recognition after becoming the first female to win state wrestling and winning the Greco and Freestyle State championship this past weekend.  Tyren Holmes was recognized as a powerlifting national champion for a squat of 661 lbs, a bench of 391 lbs, and deadlift of 556 lbs for a total of 1,609 lbs.  Lisa Batt represented FCA and presented Brooks Kappelmann with his FCA All State Award and Madalyn McCarter with an FCA All Area Award.  Here are the award winners.

Male Redskin of the Year- Brooks Kappelmann

Females Redskin of the Year- Hailey Contreras

Junior Male Athlete of the Year- Hudson Rice

Junior Female Athlete of the Year- Isabela Gutierrez

Male Activities Academic Award- Aidan Schwindt

Female Activities Academic Award- Kamilah Delgado

Male Sportsmanship Award- Jiovanny Garcia

Female Sportsmanship Award- Elle Hatcher

Redskin Fans of the Year- Cesar Michel and Cindy Olivas

Daily Leader Redskin/Lady Redskin of the Year Award- Brooks Kappelmann and Hailey Contreras

KSCB Scholarship- Brooks Kappelmann and Hailey Contreras

Booster Club Scholarship- Madalyn McCarter, Brooks Kappelmann, Kortni Kapp, Jackson Dodge, Seth Michel, and Elle Hatcher