Four Saints Make 1st Team All Conference

KSCB News - May 16, 2011 8:17 am

After winning the Jayhawk West Conference for the second straight year, the Seward County Saints had seven players named to the KJCCC’s All-Conference team on Friday. Shortstop Jake Barrios was named the Conference Freshman of the Year and a 1st Team selection and was joined on the 1st Team by pitcher Logan Hall, outfielder Tyler Hill, and utility man Willy Gustin. Jordan Dallalio was a 2nd Team pick for the second straight season at 2nd base, Ben Wainwright was a 2nd Team choice as designated hitter and JT Bean was an Honorable Mention pick at 1st base for the Saints.

Jake Barrios was the big winner on the night for the Saints as the rookie shortstop was voted Jayhawk West Freshman of the Year as well as a 1st Team All-Conference player. Barrios won the Freshman of the Year award in a landslide, garnering more votes than the next four closest competitors combined. He is the first Seward player to win the award since Christian Kowalchuk did it in 2007. Barrios hit .362 with 4 home runs and 31 RBI’s in 30 conference games this season while leading the circuit in assists from the shortstop position. The Saints leading hitter and RBI man Tyler Hill was also a 1st Team selection in the outfield as he finished the regular season hitting just under .400 at .395 while driving in 51 runs for Seward. Willy Gustin was the third Saint hitter to be picked as a 1st Team member after he paced the Saints in hitting for much of the season as well as leading the club in saves and ERA. Gustin was the top utility man in the West after batting .380 as an outfielder and posting a 3.60 ERA and 5 saves on the mound. Logan Hall was an All-Conference pick on the mound for the second time after the lanky righty was 5-1 with 5 complete games in 8 starts in Jayhawk West Conference action. An Honorable Mention choice as a freshman in 2010, Hall was a 1st Team pick this season and finishes his Saints career with a 10-1 record in conference play.

Two Saints earned 2nd Team accolades as Jordan Dallalio backs up his 2010 2nd Team selection as a designated hitter with a 2nd Team choice as a 2nd baseman in 2011. Dallalio unfortunately finished behind Matt Burns from Pratt who was the 1st Team pick at 2nd base despite playing shortstop the majority of the season. Dallalio helped carry the Saints to the Jayhawk West title, leading the club in hitting at .405, runs scored with 41, and RBI’s with 31 in conference action. Ben Wainwright was Seward’s other 2nd Team pick as the freshman thumper finished the conference season tied for the team lead with 4 home runs and was third in doubles with 8 in Jayhawk West action at the designated hitter position. JT Bean was the Saints lone Honorable Mention choice this season as the sophomore transfer 1st baseman hit .328 with a team leading 12 doubles in conference play and was just one off the team lead with 30 RBI’s in 31 games played.

Seward had the second most All-Conference selections of any team in the West behind conference runners-up Colby who had eight. The Trojans also boasted the Player of the Year in Brandon Wilson and the Coach of the Year in Ryan Carter.


Latest Stories

Motorcycle Accident Sends Woman to the Hospital

On May 24th 2020 at 12:57pm, officers of the Liberal Police Department responded to a single...

Thunderstorm Watch for Sunday Night


Total Confirmed cases in Texas County at 884, with 470 recovered, 5 deaths

By Miranda Gilbert Emergency Management PIO Texas County officials confirmed 25 positive COVID-19 tests on Sunday,...