Brooks and Zayden Up for Sports in Kansas Award

Brock Kappelmann - December 1, 2023 1:07 pm

Sports in Kansas has released its annual list of finalists for player of the year in the state of Kansas for every classification, offense and defense. Voting Process: The list is decided upon by a statewide media panel in Kansas in all areas of the state who receive a ballot and vote, the votes are then counted by Chet Kuplen of Sports in Kansas. Winners will be announced on the weekend of the December 2nd and 3rd. All-State teams, players of the year, coaches of the year will also be announced that same weekend. Congrats to all of the players who made our list. Players on this list are eligible for a Classification Player of the Year Finalist patch, to order that patch contact Chet Kuplen at [email protected] and we will send you an order form. Be on the lookout for all-state teams over the weekend and updated statistical leaders next week.

Sports in Kansas 5A Offensive Player of the Year Finalists

Dylan Dunn, Blue Valley Southwest, Sr. QB

Omari Elias, Kapaun, Sr. RB

Gus Hawkins, Mill Valley, Sr. OL

Max Huston, Seaman, Jr. QB

Derek Morgan, Eisenhower, Jr. QB

Brooks Kappelmann, Liberal, Sr. QB

Zayden Martinez, Liberal, Sr. WR

Alex Parks, Blue Valley Southwest, Sr. WR

Colton McKanna, Spring Hill, Sr. RB

Malik Bah, Hays, Sr. RB

Lucas Dickman, Eisenhower, Sr. RB

Tate McNew, Maize South, Jr. QB

Sammy Dresie, Maize South, Sr. WR

Tristan Baker, Mill Valley, Sr. RB

Callen Barta, Seaman, Sr. WR

-more finalists in 5A due to several tying

Sports in Kansas 8M-I Offensive Player of the Year Finalists

Wyatt Gardner, Leoti-Wichita Co., Sr. QB

Tanner Heckel, Lyndon, Sr. QB

Jase Pavlik, Cair Paravel, Sr. QB

Brock Griffin, Chase County, Sr. RB

Duncan Bell, Hoxie, Sr. QB

Khris Hermosillo, Leoti-Wichita Co., Jr. RB

Ryan Sramek, Rawlins County, Sr.

Jsesiah Bonura, Cair Paravel, Sr. RB

Marshall Johnson, Ell-Saline, Sr. QB

Creyo Koop, West Elk, Jr. RB

Brock Keith, Meade, Sr. RB

Lane McMannis, Canton Galva, Sr. RB

Kaedin Massey, Lyndon, Sr. OL

Kreighton Kanitz, Moundridge, Sr. RB

Ryder Dent, Ell-Saline, Sr. RB

Jalen Massey, Lyndon, Sr. RB

Andew Smith, Little River, Sr. QB

Trent Long, Clifton-Clyde, Sr. RB

Jace Wunderlich, Central Burden, Sr. QB

Sports in Kansas 8M-I Defensive Player of the Year Finalists

Creyo Koop, West Elk, Jr. LB

Casten Wirth, Lyndon, Sr. LB

Micah Caruthers, Chase County, Sr. DE

Ian Brian, Cair Paravel, Sr. LB

Henry Hecox, Moundridge, Jr. LB

Christopher Michel, Wichita County, Sr. DL

Brock Keith, Meade, Sr. LB

Tanner Heckel, Lyndon, Sr. DB

Sports in Kansas 8M-II Offensive Player of the Year Finalists

J.T. Prusa, South Central, Jr. QB

Owen Reece, Hodgeman Co. Sr.

Brandon Schmelze, Axtell, Jr. QB

Mason Baker, Thunder Ridge, Sr. QB

Eli Lang, Minneola, Sr. QB

Wes Anderson, Frankfort Soph. QB

Eli Broxterman, Axtell, Jr. ATH

Caden Morgan, La Crosse, Sr. QB



Latest Stories

USD 480 Approves HVAC Equipment for IT Bunker at McKinley

The USD 480 Board of Education met Monday evening and after hearing Good News throughout the...

LPD, KHP to Collaborate on Cadet Program

The Liberal Police Department in collaboration with Kansas Highway Patrol will be hosting the LPD Cadet...

Rolla Man Injured on the Kansas Turnpike

An injury accident occurred Sunday morning at approximately 12:35 am, on the exit ramp from I235...

KSCB Radio News