Liberal, KS

Now: 33 °F

Currently: Cloudy

Hi: 44 °F | Lo: 31 °F


Hi: 39 °F 

Lo: 18 °F


Hi: 49 °F 

Lo: 27 °F


Hi: 56 °F 

Lo: 25 °F


Hi: 50 °F 

Lo: 19 °F


Hi: 33 °F 

Lo: 18 °F

A Banner Banquet for Seward County

KSCB News - April 21, 2012 7:56 am

It was a night of nastalgia as Seward County hosted their 2012 Athletics Hall of Fame Banquet Friday night in the Green House. Coaches from all of the sports at SCCC/ATS recognized their teams before the first ever Seward Athletics Hall of Fame class was announced.

The Seward Lady Saint basketball players voted Kayla Thomas as the winner of the Jamie Talbert Award. The Seward baseball players voted Sam Pack as the winner of the Wade Johnstone Award.

The nominees for the top academic Saints and Lady Saints were announced as nominees for the W.A. Shuffleberger Award. Lady Saint nominees are volleyball’s Marina Dias, volleyball’s Courtney Geesing, and basketball’s Kayla Thomas. Seward male nominees are tennis players Felipe Cruz and Lucas Izkovitz and baseball’s Sam Pack.

Coaches also announced where some of their players would attend after Seward County. Basketball coach Bryan Zollinger announced guard Deverell Biggs signed to play at Nebraska choosing the Huskers over Oklahoma State. Lady Saint coach Toby Wynn announced Kelsey Willson committed to Texas-Arlington rather than come back for a redshirt sophomore season.

Former Lady Saint coach Jim Littell, current baseball coach and athletic director Galen McSpadden, former Lady Saint baskeball player and coach Kim Ortega, and former baseball player Cory Patton all game speeches after being inducted into the hall of fame. The 2002 Lady Saint team was inducted into the hall of fame as a team. Portions of the speeches can be heard during the Sportsguys next week.


Latest Stories

Free Business Seminars to be Offered February 28

By Liberal Area Coalition For Families Free business seminars are coming to Liberal. The seminars are...

Award-Winning Albuquerque Poet to judge SCCC Poetry Contest; Entries Now Being Accepted

  By Janice Northerns Liberal, Kans. — The deadline to enter Seward County Community College’s ninth...

Seward County Meets with Light Agenda

The Seward County Board of County Commissioners met on Tuesday due to the Presidents Day Holiday...