Liberal, KS

Now: 90 °

Currently: Clouds

Hi: 104 ° | Lo: 81 °

Seward County Residents Exempt from Quarantine if Traveling for Medical Reasons

Brock Kappelmann - April 15, 2020 2:10 pm

Seward County residents are required to quarantine two weeks if they travel to multiple areas of the state and country.  However, the Seward County Health Officer Dennis Knudsen in consultation with local leaders has made an exception.  An emergency health order says individuals are specifically exempted from the quarantine requirements if they are traveling for medical reasons.  However, businesses and organizations should contact the Seward County Health Department or Seward County Emergency Management for guidance if one of their employees travels to medical reasons.

Last week it was announced that any Seward County resident who travels to or from Oklahoma City, Edmond, Norman, Moore, Tulsa, Amarillo, Canyon and Connecticut are required to quarantine for 14 days. These areas are added to the previous Seward County quarantine list which is still in effect for the Kansas City metro area, Wichita/Sedgwick County, Topeka/Shawnee County, Louisiana, Colorado, Florida, California, New York, Washington (state), Illinois, and New Jersey. Seward County residents who travel to these areas are required to quarantine at home for 14 days.

The new order also says individuals or groups isolated or quarantined may request a hearing in Seward County District Court contesting the isolation or quarantine.


Latest Stories

Broadcast Square audio archives June 20 to 24, 2022

You can listen to archived Broadcast Square audio from the week of June 20 to 24,...

Ulysses KS Student Who Graduated from High School and Harvard at the Same Time Passed the Bar Exam

KAKE News A young man from Ulysses Kansas who earned an undergraduate degree from Harvard the same...

Governor Laura Kelly Announces $53 Million in Appreciation Bonuses for Child Care Providers

TOPEKA – Governor Laura Kelly announced that her administration is giving a total of $53 million...

KSCB Radio News