Liberal, KS

Now: 54 °

Currently: Rain

Hi: 59 ° | Lo: 49 °

SCCC to hold PTK induction ceremony

Joe Denoyer - March 25, 2024 12:30 pm


LIBERAL, Kan. – The Seward County Community College chapter of Phi Theta Kappa will host its induction ceremony at 6:30 p.m. on Tuesday, March 26 in the Rapid Fit Showcase Theater on the SCCC Campus. The event is open and free to the public.

Forty-nine SCCC students will be inducted into the international honor society for community colleges. To be eligible, students must have completed at least 12 hours of college-level courses and have a GPA of 3.5 or higher after their first semester. Students must maintain a 3.0 to continue being a member.

Charlotte Peterson, director of human resources at SCCC, is the sponsor for Phi Theta Kappa.

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa shall provide opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

The students being inducted are:

Antoine Adamiak, Carol Aguirre, Keylee Alba, Emily Avitia, Faith Alvarado, Kelsey Boman, Kyler Brooks, Breckin Buttry, Jaqueline Cortes, Kaylah Estes, Mya Fabbro, Santiago Gaitan, Jesus Geron, Nyssa Goitia, Catie Gooch, Diana Hernandez, Elias Herrera, Lindsey Hodges, Nathanial Hopkins, Cinthya Huizar, Kylee Hunt, Fiona Knudsen, Moses Lara-Ramirez, Sara-Gay Lawe, Tara-Gay Lawe, Claire Mains, Adam Mendoza, Vanessa Mora, Haydee Munoz-Rodriguez, Amy Nguyen, Osbel Oceguera, Erich Ortiz, Isset Pando Rodriguez, Keagon Pitton, Aidan Rice, Duncan Rotich, Vanessa Rivas, Trenton Rowan, Suheila Rosas, Gwynytth Rada, Connor Raney, Dalia Sanchez Leon, Emnet Shifaraw, Katrina Spencer-Clymer, Kyle Toon, Andrea Torres, Nolita Viljoen, Hannah Williams and Isaac Ybarra.


Latest Stories

City Commission Approves Splash Pads

The Liberal City Commission met on Tuesday evening and heard from the Oxford House Alumni providing...

Teacher of the Year Nominations Being Accepted

The time has come, once again, to nominate your favorite USD 480 teacher for Teacher of...

Resurfacing Project Underway in Grant/Haskell Counties

Traffic reductions started Tuesday, April 16, for highway work that will take place along U.S. 160...

KSCB Radio News