Kansans To Face Tougher Seatbelt Laws

KSCB News - May 28, 2010 12:00 am

Kansas motorists soon will face a tougher

state seat belt law.

Gov. Mark Parkinson signed a bill Thursday to strengthen the

law. Traffic safety groups and public health advocates believe it

will save lives.

The new law, taking effect next week, will require every

occupant of a vehicle to buckle up. Existing law didn’t require

adults to wear seat belts if they weren’t in the front seat.

Law enforcement officers will be allowed to stop vehicles for

seat-belt violations. Current law says they have to have another

reason for a stop, such as speeding.

In June, violators will receive warning tickets.

Then, for a year, they’ll face a $5 fine. The fine will double

to $10 in July 2011.

 

Latest Stories

Kansas Court of Appeals Panel will Hear Oral Arguments by Videoconference

TOPEKA—Kansas Court of Appeals judges will hear appeals by videoconference Thursday, July 16, and Tuesday, July...

COVID-19 Numbers for July 10

ased by the KDHE, Seward County Health Department, and surrounding Counties for Tuesday July 7th show...

Broadcast Square audio archives July 6 to 10, 2020

You can listen to archived Broadcast Square audio from the week of July 6 to 10,...