Liberal, KS

Now: 65 °

Currently: Clouds

Hi: 97 ° | Lo: 65 °

Governor to Commemorate 5 More of the Top 25 Notable Kansans

KSCB News - August 29, 2011 3:50 pm

Topeka — As part of the state’s celebration of its sesquicentennial this year, Kansas Governor Sam Brownback is holding a series of events across the state to announce the top 25 notable Kansans – five at each event. The third of the five announcements will be Wednesday morning at 10 a.m. at the Fort Scott National Historic Site in Fort Scott. The event is free and the public is encouraged to attend.

The top 25 Kansans were selected by individuals on the Governor’s blue ribbon panel for history. How many of the remaining top 25 can you name? Here is a hint for each person that will be announced on Wednesday:

· This Notable Kansan was one was of the richest people in America in the 1910s.

· This Notable Kansan traveled with Ringling Brothers circus.

· This Notable Kansan began his/her career in banking but it was the oil industry that made him/her a millionaire.

· This Notable Kansan’s first jobs were as singer and piano player.

· This Notable Kansan has connections with museums around the world.

The blue ribbon panel for history is comprised of: Don Chubb, Topeka; Dr. Virgil Dean, Kansas Historical Society; Gayle Garrelts, Hays; Dr. James Hoy, Emporia State University; Bob Keckeisen, Kansas Historical Society; Nathan McAlister, Royal Valley High School; Dr. Leo Oliva, Woodston; Mary Regan, Finney County Historical Society; J. Schafer, Kansas Public Radio; Dr. James Shortridge, University of Kansas; and Dr. Raymond Wilson, Fort Hays State University.

Events commemorating the top 10 events in Kansas history will be held later in the fall.


Latest Stories

Broadcast Square audio archives May 23 to 27, 2022

You can listen to archived Broadcast Square audio from the week of May 23 to 27,...

Montezuma Man injured in Motorcycle Accident in

A Montezuma man was injured in a deer/motorcycle accident Thursday afternoon at approximately 1:51pm in Chautauqua...

Carr Files to Run for County Commission District 3

Scott Carr (republican) has filed his intent to run for Seward County Commissioner, District 3. Filings...

KSCB Radio News