Area Counties Receive Federal Disaster Declaration

KSCB News - May 11, 2011 8:19 am

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has
issued a natural disaster declaration for 21 western Kansas
counties ravaged by drought, wildfires and high wind since the
start of the year.
The declaration announced Tuesday makes affected farmers
eligible for aid including low-interest emergency loans from USDA’s
Farm Service Agency.
The Kansas counties are Finney, Gove, Grant, Greeley, Hamilton,
Haskell, Kearny, Lane, Logan, Meade, Morton, Ness, Scott, Seward,
Sheridan, Sherman, Stanton, Stevens, Thomas, Wallace, and Wichita.
Farmers and ranchers in contiguous counties in Kansas, Oklahoma
and Colorado also can qualify for help.
In Kansas, those counties are Cheyenne, Graham, Rawlins, Clark,
Gray, Rush, Decatur, Hodgeman, Trego, Ellis, Norton, Ford and
In Colorado, Baca, Cheyenne, Kiowa, Kit Carson and Prowers
counties will benefit. In Oklahoma, the affected counties are
Beaver, Cimarron and Texas.


Latest Stories

Seward County Emergency Operations Center to Recommend a Modified Phased Reopening

Wednesday afternoon, the Unified Command of the Emergency Operations Center met to prepare recommendations for reopening....

COVID Numbers for Wednesday May 27

The latest statistics released by the KDHE, Seward County Health Department, and surrounding Counties for Wednesday...

Total Confirmed Cases in Texas County at 906 with 763 Recovered, 5 deaths

By Miranda Gilbert Emergency Management PIO Texas County officials confirmed 13 positive COVID-19 tests on Wednesday,...