SCCC/ATS Board Of Trustees Meet

KSCB News - April 5, 2011 4:52 pm

The Board of Trustees for Seward County Community College/Area Technical School met for its regular meeting Monday evening, April 4, 2011. Vice-Chairman Ron Oliver expressed the Board’s congratulations to Dr. Duane Dunn, SCCC/ATS president, for receiving the Liberal Chamber of Commerce 2011 Merit Award; and to Elva Morales, SCCC/ATS Citizenship Instructor, for being selected as one of five recipients in the nation to receive the 2011 American Association of Community Colleges Outstanding Alumni award.

Dale Reed, associate dean of educational services, reviewed the facilities use policy, fees and usage of college facilities. He indicated that the previous year’s increase of scheduling fees did not negatively impact the usage of facilities

Cynthia Rapp, dean of instruction, provided the members with a status report regarding those instructional programs which have been included as part of the administrative review process. The report included the challenges and progresses made toward course enrollment, student placement, and community involvement in the programs.
The medical lab technician program and the library have completed annual program reviews. Those reviews were presented to the board as part of the annual reporting aspects of the college’s instructional programs.

The library has expanded opportunities for students to utilize online and digital research information and has provided increased opportunities for community participation through various programs, displays and presentations.

The college is exploring the possibly of adding an on-line pharmacy technician program, as well as expanded opportunities in agriculture and environmental sciences through a federal grant.
Tommy Williams, dean of administrative services, informed the Board that the use of web-based technology continues to be a growth aspect of the college.

Celeste Donovan reported that the annual phonathon is in full swing this week with a goal to reach student scholarship donations of $33,000.
In other business, the board
approved the employment of Amy Ford as Title V grant and career resource activities coordinator;
·accepted the resignation of Juanita Monroe as nurse aide instructor; and,
· approved the extension of faculty contracts for FY2012.
The Board will hold its next regular board meeting on Monday, May 2.


Latest Stories

Broadcast Square audio archives January 11 to 15, 2021

You can listen to archived Broadcast Square audio from the week of January 11 to 15,...

High Wind Warning Friday

URGENT - WEATHER MESSAGE National Weather Service Dodge City KS 215 AM CST Fri Jan 15...

Southwest Kansas Player Wins $50,000 Powerball Prize

An unknown Kansas Lottery player is starting off 2021 right with a $50,000 Powerball prize. The southwest...