Rolla Student Wins Honorable Mention In Fire Safety Poster Contest

KSCB News - January 19, 2016 10:09 am

Students from across the state recently put their creative talents to work to help spread the message about the importance of smoke alarms and fire safety by participating in the Fire Safety Poster contest conducted annually by the Office of the State Fire Marshal. The agency is delighted to announce the winners of this contest, who will see their posters featured on a display in the Capitol Building rotunda, on the website, and printed in the 2016 Fire Safety Calendar.

The competition kicked off in October in conjunction with Fire Prevention Week. The poster contest is designed to support the fire safety education efforts of local fire departments.

Schools across Kansas, both public and private, encouraged participation from their students, emphasizing the importance of having working smoke alarms near sleeping areas in all homes. In Kansas, nearly two-thirds of home fire deaths result from fires reported at night between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m. when most people are asleep.

The Poster Contest was divided into three categories: Kindergarten through Second Grade, Third and Fourth Grades, and Fifth and Sixth Grades.

Bragging rights goes to Ellinwood Grade School in Ellinwood, Kansas, as two of their students were winners in two different categories.

Reece Stickney, a first grader, won in the K-2nd Grade Category, while Evan Ringwald, a fourth grader, won in the 3rd-4th Grade Category. Earning the top spot in the 5th-6th Grade Category is Lauren Schutter, a sixth grade student at Mill Creek Valley Junior High in Paxico. Several students’ entries are being recognized as “Honorable Mentions” and their posters will be featured in the annual Fire Safety Calendar along with the winners. Their posters will also be displayed in the Capitol Building rotunda. Students earning Honorable Mention include: ·

Kori Simmons, Kindergarten, Gridley Elementary, LeRoy, Kansas ·

Havana Olander, 2nd Grade, Windom Elementary, Windom, Kansas

Brecken Bergkamp, 2nd Grade, Cheney Elementary, Cheney, Kansas ·

Eva Daugharthy, 3rd Grade, Chanute Christian Academy, Chanute, Kansas ·

Carissa Sohm, 4th Grade, Rolla Elementary, Rolla, Kansas ·

Rylan Konen, 5th Grade, Windom Elementary, Windom, Kansas ·

Jenna Donaldson, 5th Grade, Mill Creek Junior High, Paxico, Kansas ·

Isabelle Waters, 6th Grade, Pleasanton Elementary, Pleasanton, Kansas ·

Madi Phelps, 6th Grade, Ellinwood Grade School, Ellinwood, Kansas

All poster submissions will be displayed in the State Capitol rotunda Jan. 19-22. The three state-wide winners will be invited to meet Governor Sam Brownback and Fire Marshal Doug Jorgensen at a ceremony in the Governor’s office on January 21, when they will be presented with a certificate.


Latest Stories

Kansas Court of Appeals Panel will Hear Oral Arguments by Videoconference

TOPEKA—Kansas Court of Appeals judges will hear appeals by videoconference Thursday, July 16, and Tuesday, July...

COVID-19 Numbers for July 10

ased by the KDHE, Seward County Health Department, and surrounding Counties for Tuesday July 7th show...

Broadcast Square audio archives July 6 to 10, 2020

You can listen to archived Broadcast Square audio from the week of July 6 to 10,...