Liberal, KS

Now: 45 °

Currently: Clouds

Hi: 65 ° | Lo: 45 °

Petty, Love Among KS Chamber Pro-Jobs Legislators

KSCB News - July 12, 2013 11:22 am

The Kansas Chamber has released its 2013 Pro-Jobs Legislator list based on legislators’ support of sound business policy that strengthens our state’s economy and attracts jobs.

“This session the Legislature tackled many tough issues and tremendous progress was made in many areas that have made Kansas one of the most economically competitive states in the region,” said Kansas Chamber President and CEO Mike O’Neal. “The list of Pro-Jobs Legislators identifies lawmakers who voted at least 80 percent of the time to support a wide range of business issues and ensure the state’s economic health during the last session. The business community thanks these individuals for working to limit government and create jobs in Kansas.”

After each legislative session, the Kansas Chamber lists the business friendly lawmakers who voted in support of the tenets of free enterprise. The Pro-Jobs Legislator list focuses solely on the core business issues that impact the state’s economy. These issues range from initiatives aimed at creating a more business-friendly tax climate, containing healthcare costs, improving the legal climate, improving the workers compensation and unemployment compensation systems to promote a fair regulatory structure.

“Kansas businesses are working daily to keep their doors open and employees on the payroll. This legislative session Kansas moved forward with pro-business policies that help keep jobs in the state. The positive steps achieved this session would not have been possible without the efforts of pro-job legislators who understand the critical need for a healthy business climate,” added Kansas Chamber Chair of the Board of Directors Ivan Crossland, CEO of Crossland Construction in Columbus, Kansas.

Pro-Jobs Legislators in the Kansas Senate

Steve Abrams Mitch Holmes Jeff Melcher
Pat Apple Mark Kahrs Michael O’Donnell
Tom Arpke Dan Kerschen Rob Olson
Elaine Bowers Jeff King Ralph Ostmeyer
Terry Bruce Forrest Knox Mary Pilcher Cook
Jim Denning Garrett Love Larry Powell
Les Donovan Julia Lynn Dennis Pyle
Steve Fitzgerald Ty Masterson Greg Smith
Susan Wagle

Pro-Jobs Legislators in the Kansas House of Representatives

Stephen Alford Amanda Grosserode Les Osterman
John Barker Dan Hawkins Virgil Peck
Sue Boldra Dennis Hedke Reid Petty
John Bradford Phil Hermanson Joshua Powell
Rob Bruchman Ron Highland Richard Proehl
Steven Brunk Brett Hildabrand J.R. Claeys
Richard Carlson Kyle Hoffman Marty Read
Will Carpenter Mike Houser Marc Rhoades
Ward Cassidy Jim Howell Allan Rothlisberg
Susan Concannon Steve Huebert John Rubin
Ken Corbet Mark Hutton Ron Ryckman
Travis Couture-Lovelady Kasha Kelley Ronald Ryckman
David Crum Jim Kelly Scott Schwab
Peter DeGraaf Lance Kinzer Sharon Schwartz
Willie Dove Marvin Kleeb Joe Seiwert
John Edmonds Jerry Lunn Clark Shultz
Joe Edwards Charles Macheers Arlen Siegfreid
Keith Esau Peggy Mast Gene Suellentrop
John Ewy Craig McPherson Bill Sutton
Shanti Gandhi Kelly Meigs Jack Thimesch
Randy Garber Ray Merrick James Todd
Mario Goico Bob Montgomery Jene Vickrey
Ramon Gonzalez Connie O’Brien Troy Waymaster
Brian Weber

* Please note that Rep. Siegfreid and Rep. Weber have given notice of retirement since the 2013 session.


Latest Stories

2nd Annual Faith and Blue Coming to Liberal on Sunday

The Seward County Sheriff’s Office will be participating with the National Faith and Blue, and will...

Guymon Man Injured In Grant County Accident

A Guymon man was injured early Friday morning at approximately 1:48an as the result of an...

Seaboard Foods Donates to Rural High School STEM and Ag Programs with CoBank Matched Funds

Hooker, Okla., (Oct. 6, 2022) – With the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics projecting careers in...

KSCB Radio News