Liberal, KS

Now: 69 °F

Currently: Partly Cloudy

Hi: 89 °F | Lo: 66 °F


Hi: 93 °F 

Lo: 68 °F


Hi: 90 °F 

Lo: 60 °F


Hi: 79 °F 

Lo: 59 °F


Hi: 84 °F 

Lo: 63 °F


Hi: 90 °F 

Lo: 63 °F

More Counties Join Rural Opportunity Zones

KSCB News - July 28, 2011 8:08 am

The Kansas Department of Commerce says eight
more counties will participate in a program designed to lure new
residents to rural areas.
With the eight new additions,
the Rural Opportunity Zone program now has 28 counties.
The commerce department announced Wednesday that Sherman,
Thomas, Decatur, Norton, Clark, Smith, Stafford and Harper counties
have joined the program.
The program provides a state income tax exemption to
out-of-state residents who relocate to the counties. Counties in
the program can take part in a state matching program to repay
student loans up to $15,000 for Kansas students.
The 20 counties already opting into the program are Barber,
Graham, Hamilton, Kearny, Mitchell, Morton, Ness, Stanton, Trego,
Wichita, Greeley, Hodgeman, Kingman, Lane, Pratt, Rooks, Russell,
Scott, Wallace and Woodson.


Latest Stories

Smoke ‘N Sweets Showdown at Keating Tractor and Equipment Saturday

THIS SATURDAY!! 11:30-1:30! Tasting kits will be $5! Come enjoy the fun at the Smoke ‘N...

5 State Fair Schedule

Saturday, August 24th 5:00am-10:00 pm Animal Barns Open 8:00am-10:00pm4-H/Open Class Exhibits Open to Public, Ag Building...

National Immunizations Survey releases annual report

 The National Immunization Survey regarding Teens released its annual report for 2018 which shows Kansas is...