Liberal, KS

Now: 61 °

Currently: Clouds

Hi: 83 ° | Lo: 59 °

Meet the Candidates on Tuesday

Joe Denoyer - October 15, 2021 11:56 pm

The public is invited to a “Meet the Candidates” reception from 5 to 7 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 19, at the Depot, 4 Rock Island Road. The event is being sponsored by the Liberal Area Coalition for Families and the Liberal Area Chamber of Commerce. Light refreshments will be served at the come-and-go reception.

“We thought it was important for the voters to have an opportunity to meet all the candidates who are running,” said Rozelle Webb, executive director of the Liberal Chamber. “While we will introduce each candidate, we hope that voters will come to meet the candidates, ask them questions, and hopefully be able to make an informed decision when they go to vote.”

One of the reasons the organizations have teamed together for this event is to improve participation in the non-partisan races that set the local leadership for the near future. “Two years ago, we only had 17.78 percent of the eligible voters actually cast their vote,” said Kay Burtzloff, president of the Coalition. “We want people to understand that voting for your local races are just as important as state and national races. The decision by local officials can have a tremendous impact on your day to day life.”

All of the candidates for Liberal City Commission, USD 480 Board of Education, and Seward County Community College Board of Trustees have been invited to participate.

Candidates for the Liberal City Commission include Janeth Vazquez, Jose Lara, Tony Ray Whisenant, Jimmy Dean Holman, Tony Martinez, and Connie Seigrist and Write-in candidate, Jeff Parsons. There are three positions open, 2 four-year terms and 1 two-year term.

Candidates for the USD 480 School Board for the 3 four-year terms include Sarah Thompson, Amy Whittaker, Amber Williams, Dr. William Purdy, Nick Hatcher, and Alan Brown.

Candidates to fill the unexpired two-year term include Stewart Cauble and Dr. William Purdy.

There are four candidates for the three positions open on the Seward County Community College Board of Trustees. The candidates are John West, Dustin Ormiston, Ron Oliver and Casey Mein.

Early voting starts on Monday, Oct. 18 and will be from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday through Oct. 29 at the Seward County Administration Building, 515 N. Washington, Liberal. The last day of early voting is from 8 a.m. to noon on Monday, Nov. 1. On Nov. 2, the General Election will be from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the Seward County Activity Center in Liberal and the Pavilion in Kismet.

For more information about the forum, contact Webb at 620-624-3855 or Burtzloff at 620-629-0203.


Latest Stories

Accidents in Texas County Send Two to the Hospital

An injury accident occurred on Thursday evening at approximately 9:11 pm on E 24th Street and...

SaintsUp Pantry Set to Open for Students Oct. 3

By Rachel Coleman SCCC Seward County Community College students should never go hungry — and thanks...

Liberal Police Investigate Accident on Tuesday

On Tuesday, September 27th, at approximately 1:55 pm, Liberal Police Officers responded to the unit block...

KSCB Radio News