Kansas Chamber Announces 2020 Leadership Kansas Class, SCCC’s Sarah Thompson Selected             

Joe Denoyer - March 2, 2020 4:00 pm

Topeka, Kan. (March 2, 2020) – The Kansas Chamber announced Monday its 2020 Leadership Kansas class. Leadership Kansas is a nationally recognized program focused on developing and motivating Kansas leaders from all four corners of the state.
“The Kansas Chamber is excited to welcome the newest Leadership Kansas class. As one of the oldest and most prestigious statewide leadership programs in the country, Leadership Kansas has a long history of fostering greater awareness and understanding of statewide economic, business, and political issues. The program helps develop our state leaders to make Kansas a stronger and more vibrant business engine.” said Kansas Chamber President & CEO Alan Cobb.
This year, Leadership Kansas received more than 600 nominations for the program. After a thorough and thoughtful application and selection process, the selection committee chose 40 individuals for the 2020 class. The committee and the Leadership Kansas Board of Advisors make every effort to ensure the class reflects the state in regards to geographic, ethnic, occupational, and gender diversity. Included in the 2020 Class is Sarah Thompson of Seward County Community College’s Business and Industry Division
The 2020 program begins in late April with an orientation session in Lawrence and ends with graduation in October after the completion of six sessions. The cities the 2020 class will visit for this year’s program include Garden City, Overland Park, Olathe, Lenexa, Kansas City, KS, Leavenworth, Hays, Pittsburg, Hutchinson, Wichita, El Dorado, Manhattan, and Topeka.
Throughout the six-month program, the class interacts with a variety of experts and community leaders through three-day educational training sessions. The diverse discussion topics include business, education, agriculture, public policy, societal health, economic development, and government.
“Participants in the Leadership Kansas program contribute their unique backgrounds, experiences, and perspectives to the LK program. They receive once-in-a-lifetime opportunities to meet the business and government leaders of Kansas, who help them be better leaders in their businesses and communities,” said Stan Rasmussen,  LK Board of Advisors Chairman (Class of 2007)
Leadership Kansas has more than 1,400 alumni. Jeff “Chappie” Chapman (Class of 2012) serves as the Executive Director of the Leadership Kansas Program.
For a complete list:
Click here to see a complete list of the 2020 Leadership Kansas class.

Latest Stories

Voter Registration deadline is Tuesday, July 14, 2020

Voter Registration deadline is Tuesday, July 14, 2020 ARE YOU REGISTERED? IS YOUR ADDRESS CORRECT ON...

Governor Laura Kelly Signs Executive Order Mandating Masks in Public Spaces

TOPEKA – Governor Laura Kelly today issued Executive Order #20-52 requiring that most Kansans must wear...

Election Results from Tuesdays Primary in Texas County

State Question 802 Initiative Petition No. 419: For the Proposal – Yes – 50.48% Against the...