Guymon Teacher Finalist for Oklahoma’s next Teacher of the Year.

Joe Denoyer - October 22, 2020 5:02 pm


These tremendous 12 finalists reflect the best of Oklahoma’s classroom teachers,” said Hofmeister. “Not only do these teachers use innovative instructional strategies, but they also place great emphasis on creating meaningful relationships with students and familiesAll have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to the success of each of their students and are highly deserving of this honor.” 

All finalists were named teachers of the year for their respective districts and selected after their application packets were reviewed by a panel of educators, legislators and members of business and nonprofit organizations.  

The 2021 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year will be named in FebruaryBeginning July 1, the honoree will assume full-time Teacher of the Year duties, which include speaking engagements and serving as Oklahoma’s ambassador for teachers, encouraging others to enter or remain in the profession. The 2020 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year, Jena Nelson of Deer Creek Public Schools, will continue to tour the state until July. 

2021 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year finalists Include:


Michael Patterson, High School Speech/Debate/Drama Teacher, Guymon High School, Guymon Public Schools
“I believe it is crucial, educationally, that we treat students with respect as autonomous individuals with the ability and freedom to make choices about the paths they choose to take. I also insist upon the rigor of responsibility for those choices. Those lessons, to my mind, are as important as any that I teach.” 


Latest Stories

Seward County Commission Meets, Approves Re-opening County Buildings

The Seward County Commission met Monday evening and reviewed  and approved the  County’s CRF funds and...

Guardrail Replacement Project to Begin in Meade County

Crews are expected to begin a guardrail replacement project in Meade County on Monday, March 8,...

Governor Kelly Encourages Kansans to Apply for Low Income Energy Assistance

Today, Governor Laura Kelly encouraged Kansans to apply for funds available through the Low Income Energy...