Liberal, KS

Now: 59 °F

Currently: Haze

Hi: 81 °F | Lo: 55 °F

Tuesday

Hi: 88 °F 

Lo: 62 °F

Wednesday

Hi: 81 °F 

Lo: 63 °F

Thursday

Hi: 91 °F 

Lo: 65 °F

Friday

Hi: 93 °F 

Lo: 66 °F

Saturday

Hi: 96 °F 

Lo: 69 °F

Navarro Leans On Defense Early On

Brock Kappelmann - September 1, 2016 7:13 am

With an off season knee injury to Liberal High School striker Eliel Gonzalez, the Liberal soccer boys turn to their defense as a strength early on.  Navarro, who had off season knee replacement will also try to reconstruct the offense until Eliel returns late in the season.  Navarro says the defense is the strength of the team after it was a weakness last season.  Navarro is Liberal’s only head coach and is 240-78-13 as the program’s coach.  Liberal has made 10 of the past 14 “final 4’s.”  Last year LHS advanced to the quarterfinals with a win at Bishop Carroll and finished 12-7 and 6-2 in the WAC. Some key Redskins are Sr. sweeper Josh Martinez, Sr. CMF Brian Alvarez, Sr. stopper Luis Minjarez, So. FW Mike Fonseca, and So. goalie Ramon Hernandez.  Liberal will be featured during the Thursday Sportsguys.

Schedule

Thursday, Sep 1, 2016
Game 5:30PM Away vs. Great Bend Great Bend High School
Monday, Sep 5, 2016
Tournament TBD Away vs. Wichita-South,
TBA
Wichita South High School
Wednesday, Sep 7, 2016
Tournament TBD Away vs. Wichita-South,
TBA
Wichita-South High School
Saturday, Sep 10, 2016
Tournament TBD Away vs. Wichita-South,
TBA
Wichita-South High School
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2016
Game 5:30PM Dodge City Liberal High School
Thursday, Sep 15, 2016
Game 5:30PM Garden City Liberal High School
Thursday, Sep 22, 2016
Game 5:30PM Away vs. Hays-Thomas More Prep-Marian Hays-Thomas More Prep-Marian High School
Saturday, Sep 24, 2016
Game 3:00PM Wichita-North Liberal High School
Thursday, Sep 29, 2016
Game 2:30PM Hays Liberal High School
Tuesday, Oct 4, 2016
Game 5:30PM Away vs. Garden City Garden City High School
Thursday, Oct 6, 2016
Game 2:30PM Away vs. Hays Hays High School
Monday, Oct 10, 2016
Tournament TBD Away vs. Wichita-North,
TBA
Wichita-North High School
Thursday, Oct 13, 2016
Tournament TBD Away vs. Wichita-North,
TBA
Wichita-North High School
Saturday, Oct 15, 2016
Tournament TBD Away vs. Wichita-North,
TBA
Wichita-North High School
Monday, Oct 17, 2016
Game 5:30PM Great Bend Liberal High School
Thursday, Oct 20, 2016
Game 5:30PM Away vs. Dodge City Dodge City High School
Tuesday, Oct 25, 2016
Regionals 6:00PM TBA Liberal High School
Redskin Field
Thursday, Oct 27, 2016
Regionals TBD Away vs. TBA,
TBA
TBA
Tuesday, Nov 1, 2016
Quarterfinals TBD Away vs. TBA,
TBA
TBA
Friday, Nov 4, 2016
State TBD Away vs. TBA TBA
Saturday, Nov 5, 2016
State Finals TBD Away vs. TBA TBA

 

 

Latest Stories

Convenience Store Robbery in Ulysses

  On August 18, at approximately 11:20 p.m. Officers were summoned to a reported robbery at...

Stevens County Crash Kills One

A two vehicle accident early Sunday morning has killed a Hugoton man. The accident happened at...

Oklahoma Panhandle Partners Fundraising Event Scheduled

The Oklahoma Panhandle Partners 6th Annual Fall Membership “Calico and Cactus” Fund Raising Party will be...