Liberal Police Department Conduct “Out Of State Registration” Sweep
KSCB News - April 3, 2012 12:20 pm
The Liberal Police Department completed the 3rd of many Out of State Registration Information Campaigns on March 29, 2012. Our goal in this campaign is to obtain voluntary compliance with the law. During the campaign, participants handed out 112 information pamphlets to possible violators of the Out of State Vehicle Registration Ordinance and issued two (2) citations to known violators.
The Liberal Police Department would like to remind everyone that Kansas law requires that all motor vehicles garaged in Kansas for greater than 90 days must be registered in the State of Kansas. Kansas law does exempt non-resident students who are actively enrolled in college. Members of the armed forces that are stationed in this state, provided that such vehicle is properly registered in such member�??s state of residence, are also exempt. Any interstate contract, agreement or declaration made by the Director of Motor Vehicles is exempt from obtaining Kansas registration.
The law applies to all motor vehicles either personally owned or company owned. A common misconception is that if the owner of a motor vehicle has property or owns a business in another state then it is acceptable to register that vehicle in that state. This is not true. These individuals are still required to obtain Kansas registration for their vehicles.
Penalties for not obtaining Kansas registration include fines up to $2,500, imprisonment of up to six (6) months in jail, or a combination of both fines and imprisonment.
We would like to express our thanks to all of the people and businesses that have complied with the requirements in the ordinance and switched their registration.
The purpose of the information pamphlets is to inform owners of the vehicle license registration law and the exemptions to this law. If you received a pamphlet and feel that you may be exempt contact the Liberal Police Department at 620-626-0141, during the normal business hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday �?? Friday.
Possible violators that are not in compliance with the Out of State Vehicle Registration Ordinance are subject to enforcement activity.
All vehicles registered in another state must first have a motor vehicle examination inspection before obtaining a Kansas registration. The inspection for passenger cars and pickup trucks will be completed at the Liberal Police Department, 325 North Washington Avenue, from 8-11 am and 12-4:30 pm Monday �??Friday. The inspection for commercial motor vehicles and RV�??s will be completed at the Liberal Animal Shelter located at 1985 North Country Estates Road, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday �?? Friday. The cost for all motor vehicle inspections is $15. For questions regarding inspections call 620-626-0141 during normal business hours.
For more information on obtaining Kansas registration you can contact the Seward County Treasurers Office at 620-626-3216. For more information on out of state registration, contact the Liberal Police Department at 620-626-0141.