Wynn and Tomlinson Take their Place in Hall of Fame

Brock Kappelmann - April 26, 2018 12:06 pm

LIBERAL, Kan. – Friday marked a memorable night for many involved with Seward County athletics, but two cemented their athletic legacy by being introduced as the two newest members of the Seward County Hall of Fame. Tracy Wynn and Kelby Tomlinson took their place as the class of 2018 in front of friends and family that have helped them along the way. The duo joins 16 other individuals and the 2002 National Championship Team in the Saints Hall of Fame.

Tomlinson was unable to make the ceremony as he was in San Francisco starting at shortstop for the Giants. On top of being inducted, Tomlinson finished his night with two base knocks in the Giants 8-1 win over the Los Angeles Angels. He did, however, send in a video.

“I am truly humbled by all the support [Seward County] has shown me throughout the years and I’m truly blessed to be a part of this community,” Tomlinson illustrated in his video.

Kelby Tomlinson became the first Saint in Seward County baseball history to reach Major League Baseball when he got the call from the San Francisco Giants in 2015. Tomlinson hit .303 as a rookie in 2015, starting more than 40 games in the second half of the season. He burst onto the scene for the Saints in 2010 as a sophomore, earning 1st Team All-Jayhawk West and 1st Team All-Region VI honors before being named an NJCAA All-American. During his sophomore campaign, Tomlinson scored a school record 90 runs and stole 28 bases which is 4th most in a season in school history.

Tracy Wynn finished the night at the podium. A member of the Lady Saints National Championship squad in 2002, Wynn has her name all over the Seward record books as the all-time leader in rebounding with 641 and free throws made with 376, while checking in at 5th in scoring with 1,154 career points and 7th in field goals made with 389.

During an All-American sophomore season, Wynn scored 631 points and grabbed 337 rebounds while making 40 more free throws than any other Seward player in history has with 225. The Lady Saints went 38-0 that season to capture the only National Championship in school history, giving Wynn and the Seward sophomores a career record of 71-1.

Wynn starred as a freshman as well, earning 1st Team All-KJCCC and Region VI honors in both of her seasons with the Lady Saints while also being named to the Region VI All-Tournament Team in both seasons before moving on and playing at TCU to wrap up her career.

“I was meant to be a Lady Saint,” Wynn said in front of the crowd of 300. “To play in a sacred place like the Greenhouse, to talk on radio with the best in the business, Brock Kappelmann, to hear Jon Armstrong announcing our names, to play in a packed house with the best fans in the country—It is an honor that only a few can experience and I will cherish that forever.”

The Athletic Department also honored individual awards for current student-athletes and coaches. The full list of award winners is below.

SC ESPY Awards
Freshman of the Year – Giovanna Tapigliani (Volleyball)
Female Athlete of the Year – Mollie Mounsey (Women’s Basketball)
Male Athlete of the Year – Duro Opacic (Men’s Tennis)
Team of the Year – Women’s Basketball
Coach of the Year – Toby Wynn (Women’s Basketball)

Wade Johnstone Award Winner
Jordan Kennedy

Jamie Talbert Award Winner
Brennyn Seagler

W.A. Shufelberger Award Women Finalists
Martina Borges – Tennis
Valerie Caro – Basketball
Paige St. Pierre – Softball
Brennyn Seagler – Basketball

W.A. Shufelberger Award Men Finalists
Ethan Earhart – Baseball
Ben Finet – Tennis
Jacob Nielson – Baseball
Renato Santos – Tennis

[Email Signature]


Latest Stories

COVID 19 Numbers for September 30,2020

The latest statistics released by the KDHE, Seward County Health Department, and surrounding Counties for Wednesday...

Coronavirus Relief Fund Grants are available NOW

The following Coronavirus Relief Fund Grants are available NOW: Agency Operational Relief Grant This is designed...

Seward County Health Department Offering a Drive-Thru Flu Clinic

The Seward County Health Department is offering a Drive-Thru Flu Clinic on October the 2oth from...