Liberal, KS

Now: 72 °

Currently: Clouds

Hi: 97 ° | Lo: 72 °

Southwest Guidance Center to Share in Tenant-Based Rental Assistance

Joe Denoyer - November 9, 2018 10:21 am

TOPEKA – Kansas families have a better shot at accessing quality, affordable housing thanks to $1.8 million in rental assistance from Kansas Housing Resources Corporation (KHRC). The funds, made possible through KHRC’s Tenant-Based Rental Assistance Program (TBRA), will be split between 12 nonprofit organizations and public housing authorities across the state.

“Last year, TBRA funding helped 760 Kansas families access safe, stable housing,” said Christine Reimler, KHRC’s TBRA program director. “Program funds help families avoid eviction and homelessness, so they can focus on long-term self-sufficiency goals like education and employment.”
Funded through the federal HOME Investment Partnerships Program (HOME) and administered by KHRC, TBRA helps income-eligible households afford rental subsidies, utility deposits, and security deposits. TBRA grants are awarded annually based on a community’s housing needs, the number of households estimated to be served, and the organization’s experience in administering TBRA funding. Public housing authorities and nonprofit organizations may apply for grants of up to $300,000.
The recipients of this year’s TBRA awards are as follows:
Bert Nash CMHC/Lawrence-Douglas County Housing Authority
Gallal Obeid
City of Lawrence & Douglas County
Compass Behavioral Health
Carla Caraveo
Ford & Finney Counties
City of Ellsworth
DeAnne Hoch
City of Ellsworth & Ellsworth County
Harvest America Corporation
Terri Bookless
Barber, Barton, Clark, Comanche, Edwards, Finney, Ford, Grant, Gray, Greeley, Hamilton, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kearney, Kiowa, Lane, Meade, Morton, Ness, Pawnee, Pratt, Rush, Seward, Scott, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, and Wichita Counties
City of Independence, Kansas
Molly Wright
City of Independence
Mental Health Association of South Central Kansas
Megan Bruce
Northeast Kansas Community Action Program, Inc.
Kristy Morey
Atchison, Brown, Doniphan, Jackson, Jefferson, Marshall, and Nemaha Counties
Northwest Kansas Housing, Inc.
Ruth Deines
Cheyenne, Decatur, Ellis, Gove, Graham, Logan, Norton, Osborne, Phillips, Rawlins, Rooks, Russell, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Thomas, Trego, and Wallace Counties
City of Pittsburg
Megan Keener
City of Pittsburg
Southeast Kansas Community Action Program, Inc.
Janet Swor
Allen, Bourbon, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Crawford, Elk, Labette, Linn, Montgomery, Neosho, Wilson, and Woodson Counties
Southwest Guidance Center
Nate Miller
Meade, Haskell, Seward, and Stevens Counties
Wyandot Center BHC
Shevella Gatson
Wyandotte County
To learn more or apply for rental assistance, please contact your city or county’s TBRA grantee.

Latest Stories

Broadcast Square audio archives May 23 to 27, 2022

You can listen to archived Broadcast Square audio from the week of May 23 to 27,...

Montezuma Man injured in Motorcycle Accident in

A Montezuma man was injured in a deer/motorcycle accident Thursday afternoon at approximately 1:51pm in Chautauqua...

Carr Files to Run for County Commission District 3

Scott Carr (republican) has filed his intent to run for Seward County Commissioner, District 3. Filings...

KSCB Radio News