Liberal, KS

Now: 61 °F

Currently: Fair / Windy

Hi: 61 °F | Lo: 25 °F

Sunday

Hi: 45 °F 

Lo: 24 °F

Monday

Hi: 62 °F 

Lo: 30 °F

Tuesday

Hi: 58 °F 

Lo: 25 °F

Wednesday

Hi: 61 °F 

Lo: 31 °F

Thursday

Hi: 39 °F 

Lo: 13 °F

New Road Laws Effective July 1

KSCB News - June 30, 2009 12:00 am

July 1, 2009 marks the effective date for many new laws, including new

traffic laws for drivers. The ź??Right Lane Lawź?ť, ź??Move It Lawź?ť,

and amendments to docket fees for citations will all affect motorists on

Kansas roads beginning this week.

The ź??Right Lane Lawź?ť, prohibits vehicles on highways outside the corporate limits of any city, divided into two or

more lanes of traffic proceeding in the same direction, from being

operated in the far left lane, except when:

? Overtaking and passing another vehicle;

? Preparing to make a proper left turn;

? Otherwise directed by official traffic-control devices; or

? Otherwise required by other provisions of law. (e.g. Stopped

emergency or maintenance vehicles)

These provisions do not apply to authorized emergency vehicles,

including those operated by law enforcement officers. Kansas Turnpike

Authority and Kansas Department of Transportation vehicles performing

construction or maintenance work are also exempt from this legislation.

Another new piece of legislation, House Bill 2147, referred to as the

ź??Move It Lawź?ť, is an important new rule for motorists. HB 2147

mandates that drivers of non-hazardous materials transporting vehicles

involved in non-injury crashes on interstate, U.S. highways, or any

divided or multi-lane roadways in the state move vehicles out of the

lane of traffic. This is intended to help keep drivers and passengers

safe by getting them out of the lane of traffic, and away from oncoming

vehicles.

If vehicles can be driven, move them to a safe location such as a

shoulder or the nearest exit, to exchange information or to contact law

enforcement. Law enforcement should always be called if:

? there are injuries;

? a vehicle cannot be moved;

? one of the drivers appears to be intoxicated;

? damage exceeds $1,000;

? one of the drivers has no insurance; or

? one of the drivers leaves the scene of the crash.

For violations of both the Move It Law and the legislation mandating

driving in the right lane of traffic, warnings will be issued within the

first year in effect. After June 30, 2010, violators can receive a $60

citation for violations of these laws.

Another change on July 1, 2009 will affect any driver receiving a

citation for a traffic violation. In an effort to alleviate the $15.9

million cut from the Judicial Branchź??s Fiscal Year 2010 maintenance

budget, the Kansas Supreme Court, as authorized by 2009 Senate Bill 66,

will impose an emergency surcharge of $10, which will be added to court

costs in all cases. Kansas Supreme Court Chief Justice Robert Davis

signed the order June 3, 2009. Should a traffic citation be issued to

you, the total docket fees (court costs) will now be $86. The $10

surcharge is effective until June 30, 2010, unless rescinded or

otherwise amended by the Kansas Supreme Court.

 

Latest Stories

Official Statement From SWMC: No Bomb Found

During the early afternoon hours of Friday, December 15th, a suspicious container was reported by an...

Suspicious Device Found at SWMC

A suspicious device has been found at the Southwest Medical Center campus outside the facility. At...

Highway 54 Crash Injures Meade Man

A crash west of Fowler on Highway 54 sent at Meade man to the hospital Thursday...