Liberal, KS

Now: 58 °F

Currently: Fair / Windy

Hi: 68 °F | Lo: 35 °F


Hi: 74 °F 

Lo: 42 °F


Hi: 84 °F 

Lo: 55 °F


Hi: 85 °F 

Lo: 45 °F


Hi: 72 °F 

Lo: 48 °F


Hi: 75 °F 

Lo: 41 °F

Kansas Legislature Elects New Leaders

Joe Denoyer - December 5, 2016 3:32 pm

Kansas lawmakers selected their leaders for next year with a new House speaker chosen by Republicans. Rep. Ron Ryckman Jr. of Olathe, formerly of Meade was selected by the House to be the new Speaker.

House Republicans designated a new speaker because incumbent Ray Merrick of Stilwell did not seek re-election to the Legislature this year. Also vying for the post was Majority Leader Jene Vickrey of Louisburg, and Rep. Russ Jennings of Lakin. Ryckman Jr. will serve a two-year term.

Senate President Susan Wagle of Wichita was selected by fellow GOP senators for another four-year term as leader. Senate budget chairman Ty Masterson of Andover challenged her.

Here are the complete results:

Senate Republicans
Senate President: Senator Susan Wagle, R-Wichita, won re-election over Senator Ty Masterson, R-Andover.

Senate Vice President: Senator Jeff Longbine, R-Emporia, won against Senator Gene Suellentrop, R-Wichita.

Senate Majority Leader: Senator Jim Denning, R-Overland Park, who had no opposition.

Senate Assistant Majority Leader: Senator Vicki Schmidt R- Topeka, won against Senator Julia Lynn, R-Olathe.

The GOP Whip: Senator Elaine Bowers, R-Concordia, won against Senator Rick Billinger, R-Goodland.

Senate Democrats
Senate Minority Leader: Senator Anthony Hensley, D-Topeka, was unopposed for his sixth term as Minority Leader.

Senate Assistant Minority Leader: Senator Laura Kelly, D-Topeka.

Minority Agenda Chair: Senator Marci Francisco, D-Lawrence, who had no opposition.

Senate Minority Whip: Senator Oletha Faust-Goudeau, D-Wichita, who had no opposition.

Caucus Chair: Senator Tom Hawk, D-Manhattan, maintained his position as Caucus Chair.

House Republicans
Speaker of the House: Rep. Ron Ryckman Jr., R-Olathe, won against Rep. Russ Jennings, R-Lakin.

House Majority Leader: Rep. Don Hineman, R-Dighton, won against Rep. John Barker, R-Abilene.

House Speaker pro tem: Rep. Scott Schwab, R-Olathe, won against Rep. Ron Highland, R-Wamego, and Rep. Kyle Hoffman, R-Coldwater.

House Assistant Majority Leader: Rep. Tom Phillips, R-Manhattan, won against Rep. Dan Hawkins, R-Wichita.

House Majority Whip: Kent Thompson, R-Iola, won against Rep. Blake Carpenter, R-Derby.

GOP Caucus Chair: Rep. Susan Concannon, R-Beloit, won against Rep. Willie Dove, R-Bonner Springs.

House Democrats
House Minority Leader: Rep. Jim Ward, D-Wichita, won against Rep. Tom Burroughs, D-Kansas City.

House Assistant Minority Leader: Rep. Stan Frownfelter, D-Kansas City won against Rep. Louis Ruiz, D-Kansas City, and Rep. Valdenia Winn, D-Kansas City.

House Caucus Chair: Rep. Barbara Ballard, D-Lawrence, won re-election with no opposition.

Policy Chair: Rep. Adam Lusker, D-Frontenac, had no opposition.

House Agenda Chair of Democrat caucus: Rep. Brandon Whipple, D-Wichita, won re-election with no opposition.

Caucus Whip: Rep. Ed Trimmer, D-Winfield, won over Rep. Jarrod Ousley, D-Merriam.


Latest Stories

SCCC to Create Emerging Leaders Guild for Youth

Longtime Southwest Kansas personality Judge Tommy Webb will kick off the introduction of the SCCC Emerging...

Voter Registration Deadline Today

The last day to register to vote or update your registration for the General Election is...

Man Dies in Fatality Accident in Texas County

A fatality accident occurred on Monday October 14 at 8:30pm on County Road C and County...