Bee Jays Win KCLB Title

Brock Kappelmann - July 28, 2019 7:50 am

In the history of the Jayhawk League which spanned 1976-2018, no one won more Jayhawk League titles than the Liberal Bee Jays.  In their first year in the Kansas Collegiate League, the Bee Jays win the league. Saturday night in Augusta, Liberal defeated the Kansas Cannons 14-4 at Rodney Wheeler Stadium.  Liberal wins the championship series 2-0.

As the visiting team on their home field, the Cannons took an early 4-1 lead against BJ starter Garret Bonnet.  A Cayde Ward three run homer tied the game.  Aiden Shepardson and Shane Sirdashney added round trippers.  Connor Emmet and Cayde Ward both went 4-5.  Aiden Shepardson was 3-5 with four RBI’s.

Garret Bonnet pitched the first four innings.  Lorenzo Galicia pitches three innings and Trevor Pruitt and Jake Reed pitched an inning a piece.

Liberal is 28-12 and will play August 1 or 2 in the NBC World Series at Eck Stadium at Wichita State University.  The games will air on 1270.



Latest Stories

71st International Pancake Day Eating and Flipping Results

18 & over Eating Contest -7 pancakes 1st- Mikayla Knudsen 1:26:81 2nd – Mario Munoz 1:35:01...

Boil Order for Turpin Rescinded

  The Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) has announced that the boil order for the...

Kris Musgrave Files for District 5 County Commission

Kris Musgrave (Republican) has filed his intent to run for Seward County Commissioner, District 5. Filings...