All Five Kansas State Board of Education Members File for Re-Election

KSCB News - May 14, 2010 12:00 am

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) – All five members of the Kansas State Board

of Education whose terms are ending have filed for re-election this


Republicans John Bacon, of Olathe, and Ken Willard, of

Hutchinson, filed with the secretary of state’s office this week.

Bacon and Willard are conservatives. In 2005, they supported

science testing standards for public schools that reflected

skepticism about evolution.

Filing earlier this year were incumbent Democrat Janet Waugh, of

Kansas City, and Republicans Sally Cauble, of Liberal, and Jana

Shaver, of Independence.

All three were part of a board majority that voted in 2007 to

return the state to using evolution-friendly science standards.

The board’s 10 members serve staggered, four-year terms.


Latest Stories

Nathan McCaffrey, Ada Linenbroker to Serve as Chair, Vice-Chair for Seward County

The Seward County Commission me Monday morning, January 20th at 8:30am. Among the items on the...

Francisco Gomez and Edma Landa Win Homecoming

Liberal hosted homecoming in the Big House Friday night.  Edma Landa was crowned homecoming queen and...

Public Invited to MLK March and Celebration

The Martin Luther King Day Committee will be hosting its annual Martin Luther King Day event...