Liberal, KS

Now: 32 °F

Currently: Cloudy

Hi: 32 °F | Lo: 31 °F


Hi: 36 °F 

Lo: 23 °F


Hi: 42 °F 

Lo: 23 °F


Hi: 54 °F 

Lo: 24 °F


Hi: 57 °F 

Lo: 31 °F


Hi: 62 °F 

Lo: 32 °F

SCCC, FHSU Pave Path Forward for Transfer Students

Joe Denoyer - November 28, 2017 10:19 am

Seward County Community College and Fort Hays State University have partnered to provide students with the opportunity to attain expanded bachelor degree options in business, criminal justice, biology, mathematics and psychology.

Representatives from both institutions, including SCCC President Dr. Ken Trzaska, and FHSU interim President Dr. Andy Tompkins, will sign an articulation agreement at a ceremony at noon Wednesday, Nov. 29, on the SCCC campus. The official signing will be followed by a luncheon featuring speaker Alexandria Widener, a graduate of SCCC and FHSU who currently serves as academic counselor at SCCC for the TRiO program.

The signing ceremony is open and free to the public and will be held at the All-American Room on the SCCC campus. An invitation only luncheon will follow.

SCCC and FHSU have partnered in many academic endeavors for more than 20 years and the latest set of agreements sets a course for the future. Both Trzaska and Tompkins agree that this is another step in benefitting the students and communities of both Seward and Hays.

“As residents of Southwest Kansas know, accessing options for higher education can prove challenging. Removing those barriers has been part of SCCC’s focus for its first 50 years, and we are pleased to point the way forward to the next 50 years,” Trzaska said.

“With this agreement, Seward County Community College students in these 15 programs will be assured of a smooth transition to Fort Hays State University for the final years of their baccalaureate education,” Tompkins said. “This agreement builds a base for creating future partnerships that support students’ educational and career goals.”

Among the degrees, SCCC and FHSU have partnered to include: Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice; Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Business; Bachelor of Business Administration in Management; Bachelor of Business Administration; Bachelor of Business Administration in Marketing; Bachelor of Business Administration in Finance; Bachelor of Science in Biology; Bachelor of Science in Mathematics; Bachelor of Science in Psychology; Bachelor of Social Work; and Bachelor of Science in Technology Leadership. Many of these degrees are expanded with concentrations in certain areas.


Latest Stories

Broadcast Square audio archives November 12 to 16, 2018

You can listen to archived Broadcast Square audio from the week of November 12 to 16,...

APAC Receives NAPA’s Top Paving Award for Southwest Kansas Project

APAC Shears of Hutchinson has been awarded the National Asphalt Pavement Association’s (NAPA) Larry H. Lemon...

SCCC Drama Department Prepares for ‘Novio Boy’

Everyone goes through the experience of their first date with someone at some point in their...