Liberal, KS

Now: 66 °F

Currently: Fair

Hi: 79 °F | Lo: 51 °F

Monday

Hi: 88 °F 

Lo: 64 °F

Tuesday

Hi: 91 °F 

Lo: 62 °F

Wednesday

Hi: 86 °F 

Lo: 58 °F

Thursday

Hi: 88 °F 

Lo: 63 °F

Friday

Hi: 89 °F 

Lo: 57 °F

Kansas Toughens Drunk Driving Laws

KSCB News - May 26, 2011 8:09 am

Kansas will require first-time drunken
driving offenders to use ignition interlock devices on their
vehicles, starting in July.
Gov. Sam Brownback signed a bill Wednesday that strengthens the
state’s laws against driving under the influence of alcohol or
other drugs. The new law also requires the state to set up a
central database of driving-under-the-influence cases to track of
offenders’ histories.
Mothers Against Drunk Driving pushed Kansas to make its laws
tougher. Last year, federal statistics showed alcohol-related
traffic deaths in Kansas jumped in 2009, even as they dropped
nationwide.
Current law suspends a first-time DUI offender’s license for 30
days and allows a judge to order use of an ignition interlock for
330 days after that. The new law will mandate 180 days’ use after
the suspension.

 

Latest Stories

Forgan Woman Dies in Private Property Accident

A private property fatality accident occurred Saturday morning at approximately 11:35am at a residence approximately 2...

Claus Claims Victory in 2019 Duck Race

The Liberal Chamber of Commerce celebrated the 2019 Duck Festival in Light Park on Saturday. There...

Broadcast Square audio archives September 16 to 20, 2019

You can listen to archived Broadcast Square audio from the week of September 16 to 20,...