Liberal, KS

Now: 25 °F

Currently: Cloudy

Hi: 57 °F | Lo: 26 °F


Hi: 60 °F 

Lo: 28 °F


Hi: 60 °F 

Lo: 40 °F


Hi: 62 °F 

Lo: 34 °F


Hi: 66 °F 

Lo: 29 °F


Hi: 43 °F 

Lo: 23 °F

Bee Jays Party Like it’s 1999

Brock Kappelmann - July 18, 2017 7:22 am

Since the turn of the century, the Liberal Bee Jays have won two NBC World Series titles in 2000 and 2010.  They have finished third twice at the NBC in Wichita in 2009 and 2015.  But one thing missing this century has been a Jayhawk League title.  That changed Monday night in front of a big crowd at Brent Gould Field as the Liberal Bee Jays defeated the Hays Larks 18-6.  The win clinched at least a share of the Jayhawk League for Liberal. It’s Liberal’s first Jayhawk League title since 1999.

Hays scored three in the first and two unearned runs.  But Liberal responded in a resounding way in the bottom of the first win nine runs.  Colton Onstott singled home two with a line drive to right.  Cale O’Donnell singled to left center to tie it.  Kyle Schmidt hit a grand slam over the center field wall in the first to make it 7-3.  Marcus Shoemaker and Jaron Robinson added RBI singles for a 9-3 lead.  Liberal scored three more in the second with an RBI single by Zac Cook and a Shoemaker walk with the bases loaded.  Liberal added five in the fifth.  Onstott homered to left for a 14-4 lead.  Cook ripped a two RBI triple to right center and scored on a wild pitch.  Onstott doubled home another run in the sixth.

Zach Autin pitched six strong innings for the win striking out six and walking one.  He allowed three earned runs. Cody Wernli, Chance Carner, and Trent Maloney pitched single innings.

Liberal finishes the Jayhawk League 30-12.  Included in Liberal’s record are three wins forfeited by Oklahoma City who was scheduled to come to Liberal this week.  They folded and did not travel to Great Bend or Liberal.   Derby and Hays are 27-12.  Hays hosts El Dorado and Derby hosts Great Bend.  Liberal finishes 4-2 vs. Hays and 5-1 vs. Derby.

Liberal hosts an all star team of area high school and college players Wednesday night at 7 at Brent Gould Field.  Sandcreek Pipeline and Windtree Management are the buyout sponsors.  The next radio broadcast will be at the NBC World Series.


Latest Stories

Seymour Rogers FCCLA Results from Phoenix

Seymour Rogers Results from National Cluster Competition in Phoenix, Arizona Event Name of Student Results 1...

Governor Jeff Colyer Makes Judicial Appointment to the 16th District Court

   Topeka – The Governor has appointed Laura Lewis of Meade as a District Judge in...

Liberal Man Injured in Beaver County Accident

An injury accident  occurred Monday morning at 7:10am on County Road East West 14, 1 mile...