Liberal, KS

Now: 39 °F

Currently: Cloudy

Hi: 39 °F | Lo: 28 °F

Saturday

Hi: 69 °F 

Lo: 31 °F

Sunday

Hi: 48 °F 

Lo: 25 °F

Monday

Hi: 48 °F 

Lo: 21 °F

Tuesday

Hi: 49 °F 

Lo: 21 °F

Wednesday

Hi: 56 °F 

Lo: 29 °F

Wind Advisory Posted for Wednesday with Freeze Warning Thursday

KSCB News - April 30, 2014 6:01 am

…WINDY AGAIN TODAY AND THEN COLD TONIGHT…

.THE SURFACE PRESSURE GRADIENT WILL ONCE AGAIN BE TIGHT ENOUGH TO
PRODUCE STRONG NORTH WINDS ACROSS WESTERN KANSAS. THE WINDS WILL
SUBSIDE THIS EVENING AROUND SUNDOWN, AND COLD AIR WILL SINK INTO
MUCH OF SOUTHWEST KANSAS.

KSZ043-044-061>063-075-076-085-086-301700-
/O.NEW.KDDC.FZ.W.0002.140501T0900Z-140501T1400Z/
/O.NEW.KDDC.WI.Y.0022.140430T1200Z-140501T0000Z/
SCOTT-LANE-HAMILTON-KEARNY-FINNEY-GRANT-HASKELL-STEVENS-SEWARD-
INCLUDING THE CITIES OF…SCOTT CITY…DIGHTON…SYRACUSE…
LAKIN…DEERFIELD…GARDEN CITY…KALVESTA…ULYSSES…SUBLETTE…
SATANTA…HUGOTON…MOSCOW…LIBERAL…KISMET
258 AM CDT WED APR 30 2014 /158 AM MDT WED APR 30 2014/

…WIND ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 7 AM CDT /6 AM MDT/ THIS MORNING
TO 7 PM CDT /6 PM MDT/ THIS EVENING…
…FREEZE WARNING IN EFFECT FROM 4 AM CDT /3 AM MDT/ TO 9 AM CDT
/8 AM MDT/ THURSDAY…

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN DODGE CITY HAS ISSUED A FREEZE
WARNING…WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 4 AM CDT /3 AM MDT/ TO 9 AM CDT
/8 AM MDT/ THURSDAY. A WIND ADVISORY HAS ALSO BEEN ISSUED. THIS
WIND ADVISORY IS IN EFFECT FROM 7 AM CDT /6 AM MDT/ THIS MORNING
TO 7 PM CDT /6 PM MDT/ THIS EVENING.

* TIMING…FREEZING TEMPERATURES THURSDAY MORNING FROM 4 AM TO 9
AM CDT.

* WINDS…TODAY NORTH AT 25 TO 35 MPH WITH HIGHER GUSTS. DROPPING
TO NORTHWEST AT 7 TO 11 MPH TONIGHT.

* TEMPERATURE…WILL FALL TO 31 TO 32 DEGREES, FOR A 3 TO 5 HOUR
PERIOD.

* IMPACTS…THESE COLD TEMPERATURES CAN DAMAGE CERTAIN SENSITIVE
PLANTS AND VEGETATION.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…

A FREEZE WARNING MEANS SUB-FREEZING TEMPERATURES ARE IMMINENT OR
HIGHLY LIKELY. THESE CONDITIONS WILL KILL CROPS AND OTHER
SENSITIVE VEGETATION.

WINDS THIS STRONG CAN MAKE DRIVING DIFFICULT…ESPECIALLY FOR
HIGH PROFILE VEHICLES. BLOWING DUST IS A POSSIBILITY, AS WELL. USE
EXTRA CAUTION.

 

Latest Stories

OK Gov. Fallin Signs Application with Golden Mesa Casino

OKLAHOMA CITY – Governor Mary Fallin was joined by U.S. Interior Secretary Ryan Zinke and Ron...

Liberal Urologist to Offer Services in Meade

• provided by Southwest Medical Center A cooperative agreement between Southwest Medical Center and Meade District...

Black Hills Joins Growing List of Request for Tax Cut Savings to Be Passed to Kansas Consumers

TOPEKA – On Wednesday night, Black Hills Energy issued an official response to Lt. Governor Jeff...