Liberal, KS

Now: 62 °F

Currently: Cloudy

Hi: 86 °F | Lo: 54 °F


Hi: 79 °F 

Lo: 48 °F


Hi: 68 °F 

Lo: 47 °F


Hi: 73 °F 

Lo: 52 °F


Hi: 78 °F 

Lo: 58 °F


Hi: 81 °F 

Lo: 59 °F

SCCC Honors Employees With Service Awards

Joe Denoyer - May 14, 2018 10:41 pm

Seward County Community College observed its annual service awards Monday, with 30 employees receiving recognition for years in education. 

“This is a celebration of why our work matters,” said SCCC President, Dr. Ken Trzaska. “As days and years in our work pass, we are achieving something meaningful.”

Special guest, Liberal Area Chamber of Commerce director Rozelle Webb presented instructor Russ Reglin with the “2017/18 Teacher of the Year” award from the Chamber. 

“The whole town of Liberal admires SCCC for what it does,” she said. “The college provides an excellent education to our youth as well as people across the community, and that is because of its excellent instructors.” 

Instructor Cody Pickering received an award from the Cimarron Valley Veterans and First Responders group, in recognition of his many years of work as a volunteer. 

Members of the SCCC Executive team — Vice President of Finance and Operations Dennis Sander, Vice President of Student Services Celeste Donovan, Vice President of Academic Affairs, Dr. Todd Carter, and Chief Information Officer J.J. Widener, handed out awards to employees who had attained notable years of service. 

Five-year recipients included Bill Asmussen, Annie Brown, Kammie Francis, Hiran Gunasekara, Heather Hannah, Nina Highfill, Susan Ingland, Mary Beth Matkin, Kate Mulligan, Myron Perry, Cody Pickering, and Kelly Malwitz. Ten-year recipients were Roy Allen, Abby Bolton, Ilse Cambron, Gary Damron, Travess Funk, Blanca Guiterrez, Liz Hill, Brandie McIntire, and Janice Northerns. Fifteen-year recipients were Dustin Farmer and Rusty Tuman. Twenty-year recipients were Luke Dowell, Butch Garst, and Katy Redd. Twenty-five year recipients were Terri Barnes, Doug Browne, and Todd Carter. Retiring employees Ed Anderson, Gary Damron, and Gayla Myers received awards, and the team observed a moment of silence for Joy Fosdick, deceased, who had planned to retire in May. 

Following the awards ceremony, employees enjoyed an All-Team Picnic served in the Student Living Center courtyard. 


Latest Stories

Hugoton Police Looking for Hit and Run Suspect

On Sunday morning, May 26, officers of the Hugoton Police Department were called to the 100...

Broadcast Square audio archives May 20 to 24, 2019

You can listen to archived Broadcast Square audio from the week of May 20 to 24,...

Louderback Files For USD 483 School Board

2019 City/School Election FILING USD 483 School Board District 1 Clayton M Louderback has filed his...